Office haiku

OK, so I admit it. I’m a bit drained, and so work is really not inspiring me at the moment. There are projects afoot which are taking a lot of energy, and so I’m really looking forward to those being completed, and smooth sailing on the other side.

To entertain myself at work today, I wrote a few haiku I thought I’d inflict on you. Hope to be able to write some brighter ones soon.

Drunk on tiredness

Office bound, tedium drowned

Revived with fresh rain

Tamed in my office

Fluoro flicker and air-con

Dreaming of wild green

Artificial light

Sterilises fresh new thought

Kills ideas like germs

 

16 thoughts on “Office haiku

      • I’m fortunate enough to have my own office, so I turn of the fluorescent lights and use halogen lamps instead. The glow is so much warmer — and less antiseptic. Some days, I’m sure it’s the only thing that keeps me from going completely mad!

      • Oh – that would be lovely. I once worked in an office which was really a converted container, inside a factory. We got no natural light at all, and it really did become a physical need to get outside during lunchtime.

    • Hi Robin,
      Yes, I have, although I only started this year on a suggestion from someone who reads my blog! I’m not much of a poet, but I did even manage to get a horror haiku published by Necon ebooks, to my considerable surprise.
      Mainly, I find it a very useful tool to condense a thought or feeling into a concise set of words, which surely must help my writing! 🙂

      • Thanks! Give it a go by all means. There are people who know a lot more about it than me, but I understand that in an ideal world, they should have 5-7-5 syllables, or possibly less as japanese words translate differently, some kind of seasonal reference, and also one line should end with a ‘cutting’ word.

  1. you so need to sail out of Camden and whale watch! although there are plenty of whales surrounding your continent.
    clever Haikus…

Please let me know your thoughts

