The Artemis Effect

Finally, I’m proud to announce that my new novel, ‘The Artemis Effect’ is available from Amazon! Hooray! Time to celebrate. πŸ™‚

It’s currently available as an ebook for Kindle (and Kindle apps on iPhone and iPad), but will also be available in hard copy format soon.

To give you an idea of what it is about, here is the blurb:

Three comfortable lives are shattered when a wave of inexplicable events exposes the fragility of human society. With an unprecedented celestial phenomenon, devastating high tides, a breakdown in global communication networks, and the sudden appearance of violent ring-gangs swarming through cities and towns, Kimberley, Scott and Bryn struggle to understand the vast events unfolding around them. Will they survive the Artemis Effect? Will they discover the truth behind the collapse of society before it’s too late?

The book has something of an unusual structure, being told from three completely different sets of people in different areas of the world. It also, I am interested to note, has something of a feminist nature to it. This was not really an intentional thrust of the book: I just like strong female characters.

It’s been quite a drawn out process, so I can hardly believe that it is finally out there. It went something like this:

  • 2003Β Β Β  Sat down on the sofa and jotted down some notes for a new science fiction novel. I was inspired to write in this genre partly because I’d read some terrible examples, and thought that I could have a go at doing something better!
  • 2003-2007Β Β Β  Wrote, researched and finally finished the first draft. There were, I admit, long breaks in this process, when the book would go away for a month or more, and then I’d be re-inspired to push on. I recall finishing the draft just before a bellydancing class, and announcing the fact to the other women there. They were supportive, but to be honest a little baffled that I’d chosen to write sci-fi.
  • 2008-2009Β Β  Again, it went away in the drawer for a while, so that I could get some perspective on the work. When it came out, I went through and brutally edited it. It was only after this process that I allowed anyone (even my partner) to read it.
  • 2010Β Β  I did submit the novel to one or two publishers, and while I got quite a positive response from one, I began to see that it would be really extremely difficult to break into traditional publishing as an unknown writer. I confess I lost heart a bit at this point, and wondered if it was all worthwhile. To be honest, when I wrote it, I didn’t really imagine that it would be published, so I didn’t push too hard in this direction.
  • 2011-2012Β Β Β  Towards the end of 2011, I started to hear about the ebook revolution, and thought that it would be nice to put all that hard work to some good. Little did I know what an intensive ten months I was in for! Re-editing, taking on comments from beta-readers, re-editing again, proofreading (not once, but at least three times!), cover design, and then learning the intricacies of correct formatting.
    I’ve no doubt that it is a much more polished and readable book than when I first submitted it to publishers, and I’m proud that it is be best I can make it at this stage.

If anyone would like to read it, then I thank you for your time, and hope you enjoy it. If you do, then please consider posting a review of it – I’d be most grateful. πŸ™‚

I’d also love to hear about the process of getting your books together (if you write). Were you as accomplished a procastinator? Or were you driven and dedicated?

21 thoughts on “The Artemis Effect

  1. Yay and congratulations! I’ve been waiting for this and did just recently get a Kindle so I’m going to download it right away. I can’t wait to read it and will let you know what I think. I know how you feel since I’ve always been a procrastinator. The first novel I tried to write took 10 years and it’s still not done (though for some of those years I never looked at it). Hopefully, a novel will end up being better if it evolves over a number of years, even if some of that time is only spent thinking about it. Just knowing that yours took a long time makes me even more excited to read it.

    • Thanks Sheila – and I would love to know what you think of it! How are you finding your Kindle? I still find that I read ‘real’ books at least half the time, but it can be pretty convenient carrying around pile of them on my Kindle.
      Let us know when your comes out – I’m really keen to read it, especially as you write such terrific poetry.

      • I love real books and libraries and never thought I’d say this, but I’m addicted to the Kindle. It’s great having my own library in there and I love how lots of the classics are free. You’re the only Kasia on Amazon, by the way. I just might have to start in on yours now even though I haven’t finished some others yet. And thank you – I’ll let you know if mine is ever published! πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations! Your process feels terribly familiar, although I am not yet at the ready-to-publish stage and mine is a completely different genre. Well done for hanging in there and persevering. Here’s hoping the road to publishing the next on is both shorter and easier (it’s what I keep telling myself, anyway!)

    • Hi! I feel I’ve learnt a lot with this one – at least with the final stages of publishing and editing, although I guess every book is unique.
      Best of luck with yours. Remind me what it is about?

  3. Hi Kasia, this sounds intriguing. I wish you great success. My husband has a kindle, but I still like the feel of pages beneath my fingers. Let us know when it is available in book form, and I will buy a copy.

    • Thanks Naomi! I know just what you mean about real books – they are much friendlier somehow. Am working on the book form, and will certainly let you know when it is out there. πŸ™‚

  4. Sounds like a great concept! Unfortunately I’m bogged down in school and work at the moment, and only reviewing books I’ve already read, but as soon as I have a few spare moments to read again I’ll pop over to Amazon and buy a copy for sure! And of course, review it when I’ve finished. πŸ™‚ Until then, I wish you all the best with your book – you certainly seem to have worked hard enough to get it to this point.

    P.S. The cover art is awesome.

  5. Pingback: Awesome book cover Friday: The Artemis Effect « Misprinted Pages

  6. Congratulations on realising a dream. I’ve said it before but I’m going to say it again, I think the cover design is fantastic. Best of luck with the sales and I will add it to my download list πŸ™‚

Please let me know your thoughts

