Progress (at last)

I’ve just gone on Maternity leave (or mat leave – an undignified name which seems to say something of becoming a domestic doormat to me), and so far, I have to say, it’s been a great. Before, when I’ve always tried to stuff in a bit of writing around work, I found it pretty frustrating to find the time, and more crucially, the brain power to write anything much. My little notebook has been accompanying me around for a few months on the suggestion of other bloggers (thanks guys :)), which has allowed me to jot down ideas and the odd poem, but nothing much of consequence has happened.

However, in the last few days, I’ve managed to finish and edit one short story, and write one and a half more. All this on top of getting thoroughly distracted by social media. With any luck, I might actually be able to make some progress on the long stalled couple of novels on the drawing board. I’ve also promised to get out hard copies of the novel, and write some guest posts I’ve promised. Fingers crossed!

I am acutely aware that when bub does decide to make an appearance, it will probably be some time before the brain is in any fit shape to write, but for now, I’m relishing the opportunity. Nothing like a non-negotiable timeline to get things moving!

10 thoughts on “Progress (at last)

    • Thank you! Would love to have enough stories for an anthology, which I can work on editing in the wee hours. You know, I’ve never really thought about that phrase before – I guess it’s Scottish – but with the horror of nappies coming up, it could be rather more literal than I might like! 🙂

    • Thank you – yes this is my first, and only. I’ve heard that it’s like getting hit by a freight train, and by contrast that you don’t know that your life has started until you have kids, so I don’t really know what to expect. I’m hoping that at some point I’ll have time to write again (as you do), but I guess that will to a large extent depend on the nature of the bub. All a big adventure!

      • You will. Its one of the reasons I am pretty disciplined. Its one of the changes that having a child forced on me. Its what it took for me to manage the time. Enjoy the adventure..

  1. You are very lucky if pregnancy amnesia hasn’t hit yet. After your baby’s debut “mommy brain” may hit. My lil’ guy took my memory with him when he had a forced eviction. Excited for you to be getting so many creative juices flowing.

    • Thanks – and thankfully ‘baby brain’ hasn’t hit yet! I understand that some of it is just exhaustion, so fingers crossed the brain will return at some point. 🙂

Please let me know your thoughts

